Populate or Perish

16Mar13

Following World War II, Australia had a population of about seven million people. Isolated and without a sizeable population to fend off invasion, Minister of Immigration, Arthur Calwell, famously proclaimed that Australia must “populate or perish“. In the decades since, Australia has grown surely, if not steadily to a current population of 21 million. While I only saw a small sliver of this large country, I have every reason to believe that it still feels awfully desolate in many regions. In fact, as I expected, I came across large rural areas largely devoid of human settlement. Two things, however, really did surprise me:

1. Australia is as culturally diverse as any nation.

2. The small towns of Australia have done a wonderful job of preserving and utilizing their historic resources.

Attending the citizenship ceremony on Australia Day, January 26th, in Darebin, an inner-city suburb of Melbourne, introduced me to the breadth of cultures that now call Australia home. In Darebin, there are nearly 150 different nationalities living side-by-side! Visiting Darebin’s Preston Market later that same day, I marvelled at the bounty of ethnic foods available. Many of the market stalls were owned by immigrant families, many having emigrated several generations ago. At the same time, more recent arrivals had taken over some of the meat and seafood stalls.

My host in Darebin was my friend Bo and his family. I met Bo while backpacking through Europe in 1999. All these years later, Bo is now a Darebin City Councillor where he is an advocate for great progressive causes like renewable energy, sustainable transportation and urban agriculture. Bo and his wife were both raised in families that immigrated to Australia during their childhoods. In addition, I met Lonely Planet co-founder Tony Wheeler, who happened to be attending the citizenship ceremony as an Australia Day ambassador. My entire Australia Day experience was very special. it was easily one of the best days of my global journey not only for the community spirit I was apart of, but also,for how the day connected directly to my interest in cultural exchange and understanding.

Throughout my travels in Australia I was very impressed with the historic streetscapes in Australia’s small towns. Several locals told me it was due to the country’s reliance on tourism and wanting to project a clean and tidy image. Whatever the reason, it was great walking around these towns, gazing in the commercial storefronts and reading the interpretive signage that explained their significance. Launceston and Hobart, on the island of Tasmania, had two of my favorite historic downtowns. Combining great local beer and historic buildings and you have a winning combination!



No Responses Yet to “Populate or Perish”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment